+91-11-4512 8585
Archive of the Month : Jan 2015

Delhi Legislative Assembly Election, 2015

Posted on: January 21, 2015

Delhi Legislative Assembly election, 2015 will be held on 7 February 2015 to elect 70 members of the Delhi Legislative Assembly.

In the 2013 Legislative Assembly elections, the Bharatiya Janata Party (BJP) won 31 of the 70 seats which was a plurality. However they fell short of an outright majority and so were unable to form the government. This led the Lieutenant Governor (LG) of Delhi Najeeb Jung to invite the Aam Aadmi Party (AAP), the second largest party after the BJP, to attempt to form government. AAP formed a minority government with outside support from the Indian National Congress (INC). ¬†However this government only lasted for 49 days as Kejriwal resigned on 14 February 2014. He cited the failure of the Assembly to pass the promised Jan Lokpal Bill as the reason for his resignation. Delhi was then governed by President’s rule.